Back to VHDA Home
Follow VHDA LinkedIn Facebook YouTube RSS Feed Google+ VHDA Blog
Español | Text Size: A- A  A+ | Text Only | Print Print

Our Leadership

VHDA, created as an independent political subdivision of the Commonwealth, is subject to certain supervisory powers of the governor of Virginia and Virginia’s General Assembly. The authority is required to annually submit to the governor a report of our operating and financial status. In addition, our annual financial statements are subject to review by the Auditor of Public Accounts. VHDA receives no state appropriations for our operations. We are fully self-supporting from the revenues generated by our programs.

Board of Commissioners

VHDA’s Board of Commissioners is composed of 11 members, all of whom are appointed by the Governor of Virginia. Eight are direct appointees, including a Housing Choice Voucher Program representative.

Members of VHDA’s board of commissioners are:


Contact Information
Clarissa McAdoo CannionVice Chairman
Lemella Y. Carrington
Timothy M. Chapman
Manju Ganeriwala
Ex-officio (State Treasurer), Henrico
Thomas A. Gibson
Kit Hale
Charles C. McConnell
Shekar Narasimhan
Ex-officio (DHCD Board Member), Dunn Loring
David E.Ramos
William C. Shelton
Erik Johnston
Ex-officio (Director, DHCD), Chesterfield

Organizational Leadership

Our Leadership - Susan Dewey Executive Director Susan Dewey, who was appointed by the Board of Commissioners in 1999, manages VHDA. Prior to her appointment, Dewey served as Deputy State Treasurer and then Treasurer of Virginia. Today, as VHDA’s Executive Director, she heads a leadership team of nine divisional managers. These managers supervise specific lines of business involving our daily operations, as well as the authority’s overall strategic direction.

Leadership team members include:  


Susan DeweyExecutive Director
Llewellyn AndersonChief of Staff, Managing Director of Executive Services
Barbara BlankenshipManaging Director of Human Resources
Art BowenManaging Director of Rental Housing
Paul BrennanGeneral Counsel
Julie CamusManaging Director of Risk
Pat CareyManaging Director of Finance
J. HowardManaging Director of Information Technology Services
Mike HawkinsManaging Director of Community Outreach
Tammy NealeChief Learning Officer, Managing Director of Organizational Development & Learning
Janet WiglesworthManaging Director of Homeownership

Advisory Groups

The ability to be a needs-driven company is critical to our success. Our various advisory groups serve as Board Meeting Photo communication forums that provide VHDA with critical stakeholder information that enhances our awareness of what is happening in the marketplace. These groups include:

More Information


NOTE: You will need Adobe’s Acrobat Reader (.pdf), Microsoft Word Viewer (.doc), Microsoft Power Point Viewer (.ppt), or Microsoft Excel Viewer (.xls) in order to view some of the documents on this page.